Circa, Parramatta

Circa, Parramatta

“For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

My pastor asked me this at church last Sunday. Without hesitation, I told him what I felt was placed on my heart.

One of the best things in 2017 (and there were many!) was I had many brilliant people planted into my life in a time where life threw multiple obstacles. One of the worst things in 2017 was my inability to move on and let go of the consequence of some very bad decisions, even those made many moons ago.

For 19 years, I believed that thinking or even talking about making a change was a close equivalence to actionable change. Because everyone loves to talk about change, but no one really expects change to happen.

Take for example, Western Sydney.

Shaped by a migrant community with a colourful reputation (e.g 1990s Cabramatta), no way would it be taken seriously as a cafe mecca. Yet, if we’re being honest, it was primarily the reason why I started Quirky Tacos in the first place – to prove to others that restaurants in Canley Heights, Fairfield and Merrylands provide a rival foodie experience than Sydney CBD.

So, I give my highest regards for the change-makers of the Western Sydney Foodie Scene, including Circa. By far the best cup of coffee in Parramatta (for too long, coffee beans have been abused by franchises), Circa also impresses me with its dedication to ‘farm-to-fork’ menu, with beautiful, rustic-style plate presentation. I’ve yet to try their much raved iced long black though, mainly because its an iced long black…….

DSC00532-01
Circa’s Affogato (Cold Brew Coffee w/ Coconut Kaffir Lime Sorbet; $7) was a bit of a miss for me

I’d highly recommend the Ottomen Eggs ($18) because it’s insanely delicious and a refreshing change from the regular egg-based cafe dish (Yes I’m looking at you Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and chives…). The French Toast ($18) is a close second though, because I love their passionfruit curd! (although it’s a bit tangy).

DSC00535-01
Ottomen Eggs (Poached free range eggs w/ crumbed eggplant, garlic labneh, burnt chilli and sage butter served with a seeded sourdough; $18) is always a return order!
20180109_135133-01
L-R: Artisanal Plate (house cured beef, aged cheddar, piccalilli, green apple, pickles, green leaves and baguette; $18). There needs to be more preserved meat in the West! + Ottomen Eggs ($18) + Cold Press Orange Juice ($7)
DSC00541-02
By far the most instagrammable: French Toast (buttered brioche w/ passionfruit curd, glazed soft meringue, poached rhubarb, strawberries and crushed pistachio; $18). I L O V E the curd!

Also shout out to their hospitality! Got a free coffee on the house because there was a mix up with my dish! Seriously Sydney, grab a pen and take note!

As for my 2018 new years resolution, it is being strong enough to talk about my weaknesses more openly but not let it get it in the way of an actionable year. Also to take up kick-boxing! 🙂

Circa
21 Wentworth St, Parramatta NSW 2150
Mon-Fri (7-3pm) & Weekends + Public Holidays (8-3pm); Kitchen closes at 2PM.
Facebook | Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment