Grill’d, Parramatta (My miniature Church St adventure)

parramatta2013 009

How has everyone’s day been? Well I got nine views yesterday! I’m pretty sure 5 of them were from me………..how awkward but at least four people (or one who decided to mess with me and refresh the page four times) are reading my blog :) *yay*

parramatta2013 006

Anyways today I got the chance to go to Parramatta with my besties which was really exciting because that meant more food adventures! A few days before, I was searching up parramatta restaurants or eateries, there was a lot on Church Street. Also known as “eat street”, there is such a diverse range of restaurants available. Even better was that it was across the station. While I waited for my bestie Fiona (me and my other bestie Melissa went early to watch Monsters University which I quite liked), I was blown away by how lively Church St is on Friday. Currently Parramatta is holding a ‘Winterlight’ event, where there is an iceskating rink! In addition there was a mini farmer’s market which I was pretty excited about!

Image

Image

I think the name says it all! It’s actually amazing and NOT LIKE MACCAS BURGERS *AHEM SOMEONE

Image

‘Almighty’- Grilled grass fed lean beef, tasty cheese, crispy trim bacon, free range egg, a couple of slices of beetroot with salad, relish & herbed mayo.$13.50

Image

The Zen Hen- Grilled chicken breast, tangy satay sauce, coriander, shredded carrot, salad & herbed mayo $11.50

The girls were so eager to eat lunch (so hungry that I had to give them my muesli bar!!) and so we set off. First on our list was Grill’d. Initially when I told them about this burger place, one of them told me that Macca’s burgers was good enough for them! (I was horrified at such prosperous words!) Secretly I wanted to replicate my amazing burger at Charlie and Co at Westfields Sydney….do try it! What I like about Grill’d is it’s community-like atmosphere. The burgers they advertise is grass-fed meat, free range eggs and locally sourced vegies…even the buns are baked naturally (not the processed ones which taste artificial) and so when I ate it….it was like a delicious concoction. You can taste the freshness and the quality it’s amazing; the sweet/sourish sauce complemented the burger very well. Unfortunately because I was sharing with a friend, I only had half the burger; but it was enough for me to savour. Also they also have vegetarian burgers (which sound equally amazing) which I think is a great selling point because I’ve noticed that there is a limited range in food that my vegetarian friends can share so I’m striving to find such places! And apparently the fries are good…..

Image

What an awesome initiative!

Image

The local community groups were ‘Baulkham hills African Ladies Troupes’ (I THINK), ‘Parramatta Street Soccer’ and ‘Homebush Boys Robotics Team’ :)

However to me it was its initiative of donating to a worthy and local cause that will bring me back to Grill’d. For every purchase you make at grill’d, they give you a bottle cap in this yellow envelop where you get to choose which local community will get 1st prize ($300) while the other two will get $100 each! How works is that there are three jars and the most jars with the bottle cap wins! Splendid idea right?! Eating good food and making myself feel good is a win win situation! Highly recommended! :)

Crunch Time (for the busy tacos) – Grill’d

Describe it in 5 words?
Fresh, local, heart, healthy, good

How do I get there?
BY PUBLIC TRANSPORT
Get off at Parramatta Station and keep walking along the right-hand side of Church Street (it’s a very long street!!). The best way I can describe Church Street to you is where Morning Glory is located…..hope that helps! You can always google map it too :)

BY CAR
Well I strongly recommend you not to get there by car because only one road and there’s limited parking (as I remember). You can take your chances though and GPS: 310 Church Street Parramatta 2150

Why you should go?
Tell me any other place that has such a great charitable initiative like Grill’d. The burgers actually taste amazing and it makes me feel much better of the quality going into the burger from the meat to the lettuce to even the sauce! Although it’s a little pricy for a burger ($10-14 ish), you won’t be able to eat maccas the same……unless you have dead tastebuds because there is a big  tasty difference!

Grill'd Healthy Burgers on Urbanspoon

Tags: , , ,

About jessthetaco

An audacious high school student who has a knack of finding local little gems in the vast town of Sydneyton. Here I shall document my food adventures in order to prove that suburban food is just as enticing (if you look in the right places!) Continue being a quirky taco :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

